Sports and Outdoors

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Racing season winding down at Baer Field Speedway

From the Baer Field Speedway

FORT WAYNE — With the 2011 racing season winding down, Baer Field Speedway will offer another $20 Car Load Night on Saturday, Sept. 10.

In addition, it will be Hall of Fame Night as Bobby Smith and Jim Benson are inducted into the hall.

The racing schedule will include six divisions with the NAPA Late Models and Modifieds, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, Front Wheel Drives, and Fun Stocks.

Heading into the final two weeks of the season, the fight for track championships will headline the NAPA Late Models and Modified divisions. In the NAPA Late Models, Dean Cook leads Justin King by 69 points, with former champion Derek Hoffman and Neal Richardson in fourth, just 147 points out of the lead. Oliver Fitzwater sits fifth in points followed by Al Cook Jr., Alex Vonderau, Tim Howard, Stovall, and rookie Nate Goodman.

The Modified division sees three-time defending champion Jeremy Wallen leading. Pete Wormcastle is trailing by a mere 43 points. John Gatton Jr. and Ron Stine sit third and fourth but are longshots to chase down the top two. Mike Mayes sits in fifth, with Russ Miller, Mike Bufink, Scott Coe, Ralph Baxter III, and Mike Miller rounding out the top-10.

Larry Vandall enters this week on the verge of clinching his first-ever championship as he holds a 601-point lead over Jan Long. Alex Vonderau is third ahead of Brandon Barcus, Shawn Bonar, Frank Casagrande, Joe Kunberger, Josh Perkins, Jared Neal, and Andrew Royer. In the Mini Stocks, Jake Hinton upped his winning streak to 10 races and increased his lead over Brad McBride to 118 points. Kevin Howard, Kameron Lindlag, and Dale Moses complete the top five. In the Front Wheel Drives, Smith needs only to complete a qualifying lap to lock up his second-consecutive championship. Tristan Crago looks to finish in the runner-up spot ahead of R.J. Weick, Lee Gillingham, and Dave Fisher.

Spectator gates will open at 4 p.m.; with qualifying at 5:30; autographs at 7; and RACING at 7:30. For those not coming by the car load, single adult admission is $12; children 7-12 are $5; and children 6-and-under are free. Parking also is free. The season will conclude with the Sunoco Season Championships on Saturday, Sept. 17.

The speedway is located south of Fort Wayne International Airport, west of Ind. 1 on Winters Road. For more information call 260-478-7223 or go online at

No comments: