Sports and Outdoors

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Baer Field Speedway season champions to be decided

FORT WAYNE — The Baer Field Speedway racing season will come to an end Saturday night, Sept. 17, with the Sunoco Season Championships.

The racing program will feature two 50-lap races for the NAPA Late Models and Modifieds, plus races for street stocks, mini stocks, front-wheel drives and fun stocks.

Although three of the six titles have been decided, five drivers stand poised to claim their first-ever track championships.

Pete Wormcastle takes a 15-point lead over Jeremy Wallen into the Modified action. John Gatton Jr. is third ahead of Ron Stine with Mike Mayes, Russ Miller, Mike Bufink, Scott Coe, Mike Miller, and Ralph Baxter III rounding out the top 10.

The NAPA Late Models look to have a new champion as 2010 runner-up Dean Cook takes a 117-point lead over Justin King into the season championships. Derek Hoffman, the 2009 champion, is third, ahead of 2006 champion Neal Richardson with Oliver Fitzwater, Al Cook Jr., Alex Vonderau, Tim Howard, Jim Stovall and Nate Goodman rounding out the top 10.

In the street stocks, veteran Larry Vandall locked up his first-ever track championship in style by winning the 20-lap feature last Saturday.

In the mini stocks, Jake Hinton saw his winning streak stopped at 10 races by teammate Cory Nuttle. Despite the rare loss, Hinton still holds an 114-point lead over Brad McBride with Kevin Howard, Kameron Lindlag, and Dale Moses completing the top five.

In the front-wheel drives, Bobby Smith clinched his second-consecutive track championship. Tristan Crago holds down the runner-up spot. The fun stocks saw Jim Long Sr. clinch his first-ever championship over Joshua Kelley.

The spectator gates will open at 4 p.m., with qualifying at 5:30 and racing at 7:30 p.m. Admission for adults is $15, children 7-12 $5 and children 6-and-under no charge.

The speedway is located south of Fort Wayne International Airport on Winters Road, west of Ind. 1. For more information on race cay call 260-478-7223 or visit the speedway website at

No comments: