Sports and Outdoors

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

2015 girls Junior All-Stars named

2015 girls Junior All-Stars named
18 players selected to face Indiana Seniors in June exhibition games

    Eighteen players have been selected for the Indiana girls Junior All-Stars for 2015.
    Players in the core group include Lindsey Corsaro of Roncalli, Ae'Rianna Harris of Lawrence North, Tyasha Harris of Heritage Christian, Sydney Shelton of Mt. Vernon (Fortville), Kristen Spolyar of Lebanon and Jackie Young of Princeton.
    The North group players are Camryn Buhr of Penn, Cameron Onken of Lafayette Central Catholic, Jayla Scaife of Muncie Central, Aliyah Walker of Brownsburg and Katelyn O'Reilly and Alexis Shannon of Noblesville.
    The South group players are Kara Gerka of Fishers, Holly Hoopingarner of Greenwood, Lauren McBryar of Mooresville, Tyana Robinson of Pike, Emily Sullivan of Evansville Memorial and Megan Walton of Hamilton Southeastern.
    The coaches for the Junior All-Stars have not yet been announced.
    The Junior All-Stars will play two games against the Indiana All-Star senior girls. Those games tentatively are set for June 8 and June 10 at sites to be announced later.
    The players listed as core group players will play in both games. The players listed as North group players will join the core group for one game, and the players listed as South group players will join the core group for the other game. It is not yet know which date will include the North and South players.
    The Indiana senior All-Stars will play the Kentucky senior All-Stars on June 12 in Lexington and on June 13 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.
    The Junior All-Stars will not play Kentucky juniors this year.
    The Junior All-Star team is determined by the 22-member Indiana Basketball Coaches Association all-state panel in conjunction with its selection of the IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State Team. The selection process allows all IBCA-member head coaches the opportunity to recommend top players from schools on the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. Representatives from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six representatives from the three IHSAA districts (two each from District 1, District 2 and District 3), then meet to review those recommendations, vote and finalize the selections.
    A list of those chosen as 2015 girls Junior All-Stars follows.

Core Group
    Lindsey Corsaro, 6-0, G, Roncalli
    Ae'Rianna Harris, 6-2, F, Lawrence North
    Tyasha Harris, 5-10, G, Heritage Christian
    Sydney Shelton, 5-9, G, Mt. Vernon (Fortville)
    Kristen Spolyar, 5-10, G/F, Lebanon
    Jackie Young, 6-0, G, Princeton

North Group
    Camryn Buhr, 5-11, F, Penn
    Cameron Onken, 5-10, G, Lafayette Central Catholic
    Katelyn O'Reilly, 5-10, F, Noblesville
    Jayla Scaife, 5-11, F, Muncie Central
    Alexis Shannon, 5-9, F, Noblesville
    Aliyah Walker, 6-0, F, Brownsburg

South Group
    Kara Gerka, 5-11, F, Fishers
    Holly Hoopingarner, 5-4, G, Greenwood
    Lauren McBryar, 5-8, G, Mooresville
    Tyana Robinson, 5-10, G, Pike
    Emily Sullivan, 6-4, C, Evansville Memorial
    Megan Walton, 5-8, G, Hamilton Southeastern

No comments: