Sports and Outdoors

Monday, December 19, 2011

Randy Davis Named A Bob Cousy Award Candidate

From the Ball State Athletic Department:

For the second year in a row, Ball State senior point guard Randy Davis (Plymouth, has been named one of 59 candidates for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced Monday. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball.

Davis is one of just two players from the Mid-American Conference (D.J. Cooper, Ohio) among the 2012 nominees and is just one of 12 players in the country that has made the exclusive list for two straight years. Additional multiple nominees include Keegan Bell (Chattanooga), Chris Wroblewski (Cornell), Scott Machado (Iona), Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas), Casper Ware (Long Beach State), D.J. Cooper (Ohio), Zach Rosen (Pennsylvania), Lewis Jackson (Purdue), Hank Thomas (TCU), Jordan Taylor (Wisconsin) and Tu Holloway (Xavier).

Davis leads the Mid-American Conference and ranks third in NCAA Division I in assists per game at 7.75 as he has handed out 62 through the first eight games this year. He ranks fifth in the nation in assist/turnover ratio at 3.875, which is also tops in the MAC. His play has the Cardinals ranking first in the league in assist/turnover ratio as a team at 1.20 and second in assists at 14.9 per game.

Davis, a preseason All-MAC West selection, tied his career-high with 11 assists in the season-opener against No. 16 Arizona. He ranks fourth on the team in scoring at 7.8 points per game and has scored in double figures on three occasions this season.

This original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 by January 1st, final ten by February 1, and final five by March 1. A premier Selection Committee will be appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and hall of famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year’s recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut). For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto

No comments: