Sports and Outdoors

Monday, March 9, 2009

Division of Fish and Wildlife honors top employees

Indiana DNR Release:

Division of Fish and Wildlife honoree.

The Indiana Department of Natural Resources Division of Fish and Wildlife has named employees of the year for 2008.

Biologist of the year is Dan Carnahan of Winslow, who has worked as the District 7 fisheries biologist since 1997. District 7 includes Gibson, Pike, Dubois, Orange, Posey, Vanderburgh, Warrick, Spencer, Perry and Crawford counties.

Secretary of the year is Kim Tibbett of Linton. Tibbett regularly performs duties for Minnehaha FWA in Sullivan County, Goose Pond FWA in Greene County, and the District 9 private lands biologist. District 9 includes Vigo, Clay, Owen, Sullivan and Greene counties.

Field technician of the year is Dennis Workman of Solsberry, who has worked at Goose Pond FWA in Greene County since August 2006.

Mentor of the year is Bob Robertson of Culver. Bob has worked for DNR for 41 years as a fisheries biologist. He is currently District 1 fisheries biologist, serving Lake, Porter, LaPorte, St. Joseph, Newton, Jasper, Starke, Marshall, Pulaski, Fulton, Benton, White, Cass, Warren, Tippecanoe, and Carroll counties.

Program manager of the year is Mark Reiter of Greenwood, who is public lands program manager, overseeing employees at 22 Fish and Wildlife Areas, developing youth hunting events, and helping establish shooting ranges at Roush Lake (Huntington County), Kingsbury FWA (LaPorte County), and Atterbury FWA (Johnson County).

Angie Tilton and Mary Hayes won Team of the Year. Angie is the Project WET coordinator and Mary is the Project WILD coordinator. The team plays an important role in providing educational material about natural resources to teachers in Indiana.

No comments: